Home EDUCATION FG/ACADEMIC UNIONS: NANS Names Ooni, Emir Sanusi, Falana In Committee To End...

FG/ACADEMIC UNIONS: NANS Names Ooni, Emir Sanusi, Falana In Committee To End Face-Off


In a bid to providing a lasting solution to the crises between the Federal Government and the nation’s academic unions including the Academic Staff Union of Universities and the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics, the National Association of Nigerian Students has set up a committee of traditional rulers and elder statesmen across the country.

The student body, in a statement issued by its National President, Danielson Akpan, stressed that the committee would interface with ASUU, ASUP, the College of Education Academic Staff Union, stakeholders and the Federal Government to “bring a permanent solution to the incessant strikes which have damaged our educational sector and made us a subject of ridicule among the comity of nations.”

He said, “History has it that the Nigerian education system was once good such that other countries sent their nationals to acquire tertiary education in Nigeria. Until the inglorious days set in the beginning of 1988 when the Academic Staff Union of Universities started what is today known as the ASUU strike.

“It is no longer news to Nigerians that not only has ASUU strike affected the standard of education in Nigeria, but that other academic staff unions have followed suit.

“Consequently, we began consultations to seek the support of elder statesmen and eminent Nigerians to interface with ASUU, ASUP, COEASU, other unions, stakeholders and the government to bring a permanent solution to the incessant strikes.”

The traditional rulers on the committee are the Ooni of Ile-Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, the Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi, the Obi of Onitsha, Nnaemeka Achebe, and the Olowo of Owo, Dr Victor Olateru-Olagbegi.

Elder statesmen on the committee are Chief Edwin Clark, Alhaji Tanko Yakassai, Aare Afe Babalola, Chief Innocent Chukwuma, Mrs Folorunso Alakija, Prof. Suleiman Bala Mohammed, and the Vice-Chancellor, Nasarawa State University, Keffi, Prof. Rukayat Mohammed, who is also a former Minister of Education.

Femi Falana and Kayode Ajulo are two renowned lawyers also on the committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :